Busted Up My Hip

        
        i really busted up my hip
        good god, you should have heard me moan
        next time i’ll try hard not to slip
        
        nor stumble, stagger, fall nor trip
        i’m not made out of steel and stone
        i really busted up my hip
        
        i missed a step then lost my grip
        and to the floor was cruelly thrown
        next time i’ll try hard not to slip
        
        nor wobble, screw up, slide nor flip
        this ain’t the way to treat a crone
        i really busted up my hip
        
        i walk now with a bit less zip
        each movement aching to my bone
        next time i’ll try hard not to slip
        
        i should with grace my walk equip
        instead to accident i’m prone
        i really busted up my hip
        next time i’ll try hard not to slip
        
        
        


This entry was posted in villanelle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busted Up My Hip

  1. slpmartin says:

    Oh…those hip injuries are indeed quite painful…hope you recover quickly.

    • This one is another blast from the past, courtesy of a friend who kept copies of what I had let go. The busted hip, yeah, I recovered mostly, still have a limp and the occasional residual ache, along with the bad taste in my mouth from what caused it all. But all in all, it’s something I got over a whole lot easier than he managed to walk over me over it.

  2. maggie says:

    i really busted up my knee
    different yet same as you busted your hip
    god what a girl has to bust to break free

    we’re used to getting used, you’n me
    you’re used to busting up your eyes, your lip
    i really busted up my knee

    no one deserves it more, don’t you agree?
    you know it’s coming when you feel that grip
    god what a girl has to bust to break free

    my mistake was stepping on ice to flee
    excess applause from a man who’d seen me strip
    i really busted up my knee

    that’s half the price of being property
    it ain’t no party to escape the whip
    god what a girl has to bust to break free

    what girl can’t point to such an injury?
    we’re made to show off man’s best workmanship
    i really busted up my knee
    god what a girl has to bust to break free

Comments welcome!

