If Nothing Else

If nothing else, at least I’ve learned to keep
things to myself. Talk is never cheap
enough to mean what detractors suggest,
so better not to speak than to molest
my word’s devoted innocence from sleep.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
I’ve learned to hold my breath. Air gets too deep
not to. I’ve learned to keep still. Stairs get steep
if I try not. Abandoned thoughts get blessed,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀if nothing else.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
I fell to my life’s bottom in a heap
that night I learned I shouldn’t say one peep
about my love. Words shouldn’t be addressed
to those who take them less than at their best.
Silences sown’ll grow what truths I reap,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀if nothing else.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀




written for Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught!
at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in rondeau and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!

