Under the Influence


⠀⠀⠀I don’t keep up with hers.
⠀⠀⠀To please her I follow her,
⠀⠀⠀but I don’t actually read.
⠀⠀⠀Or to please her I do read,
⠀⠀⠀but I don’t do it out loud.
⠀⠀⠀Or to please her I comment
⠀⠀⠀so others can see me read,
⠀⠀⠀but I don’t take it seriously.
⠀⠀⠀Or to please her I will say
⠀⠀⠀I don’t read anyone else,
⠀⠀⠀but I will die if I don’t do so.
⠀⠀⠀I will die if I don’t keep up
⠀⠀⠀with what doesn’t make me
⠀⠀⠀numb. Dead. Sitting silent,
⠀⠀⠀staring out the window as
⠀⠀⠀I scream where no one hears
⠀⠀⠀how I don’t take up after hers.
⠀⠀⠀How I won’t let her influence me.
⠀⠀⠀
Crowded streets inspire me. Solitude too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Dreamless sleep inspires me. Nightmares too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Violent storms inspire me. Clear skies too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Innocent children inspire me. Parents too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Vegetable stews inspire me. Fresh bread too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Empty shorelines inspire me. Mountains too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Wordless music inspires me. Songs sung too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
People helping inspires me. People helped too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Black coffee inspires me. Red wine too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Lush colors inspire me. Endless grays too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Moonlit nights inspire me. Bright daybreaks too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Smiles inspire me. Tears too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Senseless deaths inspire me. Miracle births too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
Friends inspire me. Lovers too.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Coffee.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Coffee.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Coffee.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah, coffee.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀



prompted by Daily Prompt: Earworm
at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Under the Influence

  1. And strangers. Strangers inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.
    And quilts. Quilts inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.
    And used books. Used books inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.
    And squirrels. Squirrels inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.
    And sailboats. Sailboats inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.
    And old lamps. Old lamps inspire me.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hallelujah. Hallelujah.

  2. I am hearing a certain song by Leonard Cohen and some other folks too—Hallelujah–in every refrain. IT’s GOOD.

    • Yeah, blame the prompt. They were thinking in terms of earworms, and I thought I’d get burned at the stake if I got any readers trapped on “It’s a small, small world…”

      I’m not much a Cohen fan myself, but I have a friend who thinks of him as a saint (including the requisite miracles). And that Cohen song HAS become almost as ubiquitous as the Beatles’ “Yesterday” used to be. So in the interests of an earworm that might be recognized on the street, Hallelujah it was.

      Anyway, most of what I write is chosen with some idea of what feels like it fits. So Hallelujah it is. But blame the prompt anyway.

Comments welcome!

