Shuttlecock

⠀⠀⠀
Ummmmm, I did write a poem responding to today’s Daily Post prompt. But for me to write openly about the “sport” that was most on my heart, I had to rely on depictions and words that might not be considered appropriate for general traffic.

If you’re coming here by reading my blog, the WordPress “more” tag should suitably shield the poem, giving you the choice to proceed or decline. If you come this far via any link that gives the full post without using the “more” tag break, take the opportunity now to decide whether you care to find any poetry in a “sport” I’ve played, spectated and refereed.
⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀


⠀⠀⠀Whatever you say
we will turn out to have meant
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀should be fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀You don’t know how to.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀You don’t know how to learn to.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀You don’t know dry shit.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀If that’s what you want
then that’s the way it will be
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀and it’s fine by me.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀It ain’t your concern
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀what bad gets said about you
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀to anyone else.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀I’m here for you, babe,
for your soul mate and all that
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀romance, fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Bitch. Asshole. Liar.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Cocksucking whore. Slut. Dyke. Twat.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Motherfucking cunt.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀You know I do care
for you more than anyone
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀else who’s fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Can’t you take a joke?
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀It’s your own damn fault if you
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀let it get to you.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀I can count on you
to cut me a little slack,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀alright? Fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀It’s the way I am.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀If you can’t handle my worst,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀you won’t get my best.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀Give us a hug, dear.
A hug and a kiss and then…
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀You know, fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Why don’t you grow up?
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀What makes you think I’d waste time
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀putting up with you?
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀I love everyone,
so if that’s what would suit you,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀then it’s fine by me.
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀love love love love love love love
⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀



prompted by Daily Prompt: Fandom
at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shuttlecock

  1. “if you can’t handle my worst/ you won’t get my best” Yeah, that says it all.
    Frankly, I found nothing offensive in your word choices–though I suspect some might.
    You’ve much stronger poems everywhere–but this has a certain voice to it with all those “love” refrains playing like music in the background.
    Hi. Btw, thanks very much for visitng my blogcasa. Much appreciated.

    • Actually “if you can’t handle my worst…” is so standard a line for an abuser to fall back on to shift responsibility to his victim, I could almost have been accused of plagiarism. Ironic thing being that when abuser sets standards based on accepting his worst, then he himself locks into his best being far below that – he can only take pride in how perfectly he hit his victim, never having anything close to perfection in his kiss.

      Thanks for the grace and sensitivity of your comments. Actually my biggest fear was in depicting my abuse as a game, but I did feel that I was being made “sport” of. I meant the senryū-like stems of each tanka in the chain to be volleys by the abuser. As is so common of my experience, the sides seeming to offer reconciliation are as selfish and manipulative as the openly derogatory hits.

      Like how a shuttlecock finds its balance and orientation no matter how hit, the two lines ending each tanka were intending to echo the victim. But of course with no effect on the next hit.

      Technically this poem represented only one “point” in a much much much much longer game.

      • Your reply is very welcome because I totally missed the abuser element here. That line though I think of as between two lovers–and no one is perfect. My mental response when reading was –hell yeah, if you can’t deal with the depth of my anger, how can you possibliy deal with the height of my love and positive passions? Got to take ALL of me, not just the light side.
        We each see/read from our own perspectives and often miss the “other’s” views–unless those are shared.

        the longer game—oooo yeah….

        • Justification of abuse in terms of “accept me at my worst” is so universal with abuse, I could have copied it from any standard text on abuse, overheard it from any therapist or police officer, or admitted I was only quoting from my own abuser. The experts even characterize it not only as an avoidance of responsibility for abuse, but as abusive behavior in and of itself, for how controlling and manipulative it is.

          One of the most scurrilous poisons of abuse is how it so often tries to hide itself behind legitimate ways for a healthy relationship to be. As you had been reading that one line, it often is said in sincere love toward reaching for understanding, not controlling or manipulative, and not as an excuse for evasion of responsibility. I could so easily re-draft this entire poem to read that way. All it would take would be shifting it from the “sport” of abuse to the creative “work” of love.

Comments welcome!

