As a Newcomer

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀One last bend in the road, only a league to go,
⠀⠀⠀⠀rolling countryside, slowing down back to a past
⠀⠀⠀⠀when I was still a stranger you didn’t yet know
⠀⠀⠀⠀and you looked forward to seeing me here at last.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀A traffic light near the sign saying I’d arrived,
⠀⠀⠀⠀speed limit near walking pace, stopping to call
⠀⠀⠀⠀ahead so you’d know I made it. Yes, I survived
⠀⠀⠀⠀the storm overnight, did the trip in one long haul.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Turning off Main Street, on to your front door
⠀⠀⠀⠀prepared to stay however late you desire
⠀⠀⠀⠀me to. Overnight? Yeah, and probably more.
⠀⠀⠀⠀This here’s a place where I could easily retire.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Of first impressions visiting the town you live in,
⠀⠀⠀⠀what pleases me most is being where you’ve been.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land at the Daily Post
[background notes]

This entry was posted in sonnet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to As a Newcomer

  1. Your poem prompts me to consider the words and actions of a shady lover I’d rather not recall at this point in time. Hence, I am unsettled and disturbed by your wordcraft here.
    I’ll get over it.

Comments welcome!

