Houston Summer

image

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Houston summer lasts eleven and a half months
⠀⠀⠀⠀with no spring or autumn, just two weeks’ winter.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ve been warned. Can’t be worse than northeast
⠀⠀⠀⠀where two weeks of the heat they’re having now
⠀⠀⠀⠀can feel like eleven and a half months in Houston.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Houston summer thunderstorms wash the gullies
⠀⠀⠀⠀for five minutes’ flooding, just as quickly dried out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Any other corner of town, weather’s as different
⠀⠀⠀⠀as Dallas or New Orleans. Can’t be any stranger
⠀⠀⠀⠀than an Atlantic current’s flash seasonal tantrum.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Houston summer beach houses down in Galveston
⠀⠀⠀⠀turn highways south into rush hour commuter treks.
⠀⠀⠀⠀No thank you, I’ll beach here in your own back yard.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Although, can’t be much less relaxing a vacation
⠀⠀⠀⠀than packing the ferry over to Martha’s Vineyard.


prompted by Artistic Interpretation “Dog Days of Summer” with Margaret

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Houston Summer

  1. Sherry Marr says:

    I enjoyed this comparison of places, especially that two weeks of eastern seaboard heat can feel like eleven and a half months in Galveston!

  2. Mary says:

    You have definitely characterized the intensity of Houston summers. They sound WAY too long.

    • My first three months of it have already been too long for me, and I’ve been nagging at my host to get us a move. I’m lobbying for somewhere northeast of Maine, personally.

  3. I couple years ago I spent part of summer on a farm in the middle of nowhere in the midwest. The temperature rose over a one hundred for thirty days in a row. It certainly looked and felt like hell on earth for me while that lasted. The Northeast never got that bad when I lived that direction. As for Houston, I’ve no clue. I hope you’re lucky and it doesn’t live up to its billing while you’re there.

  4. PS–Nor did it rain even once in that period of time.

    • I’m told I’ve seen it at its worst yet. We got some rain this week that cooled it down to temperatures below Boston, which I’m normally more used to. How weird is that?

  5. Makes me want so much to be there.

  6. zennjennc says:

    It didn’t sound like you had been in Houston long. Just moved from there. I would characterize that as a mild summer so far. (just moved from there) I think the good thing about Houston in the summer is the AC; central air everywhere; Houston is the most air conditioned city in the world. Other places experiencing the current heat wave this week aren’t so lucky with the AC relief.

  7. Kay Davies says:

    I’ve only been to Houston in winter, but I was in El Paso one summer, thought I’d die. The west coast of Canada looked awfully good when I got back there. Now I live in southeastern Alberta, on the Canadian prairie, with cactus and horrible heat and thunderstorms. I like the cactus.
    Enjoyed your post. I hope you find some relief soon.
    K

  8. Beautiful comparisons…I too live in Houston where I step outside to bask in my own sunshine sauna. 🙂

  9. Unusual things happen with weather lately, ths for sharing, nice to take bath outside in the yard…

  10. Grace says:

    I haven’t been there but I wouldn’t mind summer most of the year ~

  11. Poet Laundry says:

    Definitely sounds parching! Seems like we have about 11 and a half months of rain around here (Seattle area)!

  12. Helen Dehner says:

    Must say, sounds a bit like the St. Louis summers of my childhood! Great writing!!!

Comments welcome!

