A Direction You’d Love

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Do these train tracks run west
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀all the way to the coast
⠀⠀⠀⠀and so not turn north
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀until by waters forced
⠀⠀⠀⠀the left or right to choose
⠀⠀⠀⠀what I won’t mind to lose?
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Do these pavements run west
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀as far as day fades fast
⠀⠀⠀⠀and so not reach my hands
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀until the river bends
⠀⠀⠀⠀deciding the next change
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ll live with or rearrange?
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I heard you settled
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀down again already.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀It won’t last.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Do these winds blow west?

⠀⠀⠀⠀Will this bus not make a stop
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀too soon to see me off
⠀⠀⠀⠀to not expect me back
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀before winter’s cold fact
⠀⠀⠀⠀makes me think to move
⠀⠀⠀⠀a direction you’d love?


prompted by Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Direction You’d Love

  1. Khana says:

    Wow lovely poem. It reminds me of a story I read when I was a kid about three brothers who lived in a train station. On their respective days off, one took the train east, one west & the third just started walking north, if I remember correctly. The third one found a lovely oasis very close by & was very happy.

Comments welcome!

