Lost Garden

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Every day he gave hours to me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀He had more important things to do,
⠀⠀⠀⠀but he put all those off until later
⠀⠀⠀⠀so he wouldn’t have to put me off.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Until I made myself think the worst
⠀⠀⠀⠀that I can’t have been worth that
⠀⠀⠀⠀time and that preference and that
⠀⠀⠀⠀much to him. So I chose to be alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀He’s still there, where he had been
⠀⠀⠀⠀still giving all those hours up for me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I myself neglect to walk the garden
⠀⠀⠀⠀hoping to give up forgetting how to.


This entry was posted in quatrain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lost Garden

  1. One of my friends Sheila has collaborated with me on a revision to this, separately posted as A Lost Garden.

  2. Oooo intersting ‘garden’ motiff.
    Words cunningly employed.

Comments welcome!

