Without You

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Without you I don’t know from yesterday
⠀⠀⠀⠀what’s next. I fake it. Why you couldn’t stay
⠀⠀⠀⠀at least another day, a week, a year,
⠀⠀⠀⠀who cares? You didn’t. Nor did it appear
⠀⠀⠀⠀you thought to spare me my naiveté.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀I don’t deserve you. Your prospects outweigh
⠀⠀⠀⠀my expectations of you. Don’t mind mine. They
⠀⠀⠀⠀don’t breathe a word that isn’t insincere
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀without you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Don’t bother worrying. I’ll work and play
⠀⠀⠀⠀without you. I’ll complete my résumé
⠀⠀⠀⠀without you. Without you I’ll persevere.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Without you I’ll move on. I’ll reengineer
⠀⠀⠀⠀survival without you. I’ll be OK
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀without you.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Life After Blogs at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in rondeau and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!

