Never Mind, That’ll Work

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀No! I won’t waste my best talk on you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀What’s the use?
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t say why I won’t walk on with you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀What, accept further abuse?
⠀⠀⠀⠀So if I even bother it won’t be for you
⠀⠀⠀⠀but for your next one you’re doing it to,
⠀⠀⠀⠀who doesn’t know you as well as we do
⠀⠀⠀⠀how you make sure it’s really through.
⠀⠀⠀⠀He only hears your excuse.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀But never mind.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀For him that’ll work out quite fine.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀No! I’ve no need to get back at you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I don’t play that game.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t aim any counterattack at you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀What, so you can keep doing the same?
⠀⠀⠀⠀You’re worth our most, always will be so.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Too bad we weren’t all that to you, although
⠀⠀⠀⠀that’s a detail your next one won’t need to know
⠀⠀⠀⠀how you make sure we’re the ones to go.
⠀⠀⠀⠀He’ll decide we’re to blame.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀But never mind.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀For him that’ll work out quite fine.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀So then, no! I can’t think up a lie for you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀That’s ok, you lie enough.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can’t even work up a goodbye for you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Goodbyes aren’t what friends are made of.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Just a suggestion: next time someone’s kind,
⠀⠀⠀⠀treat them like shit in return and you’ll find
⠀⠀⠀⠀what you ask for. They’ll leave you behind
⠀⠀⠀⠀as you wanted, to make sure you’ll be blind
⠀⠀⠀⠀to your next one’s selfish love.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀But never mind.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀For him that’ll work out quite fine.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Drawing a Blank at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Mind, That’ll Work

  1. A month of writing to prompt in April, following through on private daily prompts since May, now doing these Daily Post prompts every day since mid-June, it’s safe to say I’m addicted to prompts when I let one like this get the better of me.

    She’s already had the last “Fuck you.” Even a good nudge from a well-meaning prompt shouldn’t get me bothering to return the favor.

    Especially when I’ve already got the best response: Denise’s kiss.

    At least I don’t have to pretend this is me at my best.

Comments welcome!

