[no need to be green]

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Boisterous mountain
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀winds high above the tree line —
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀no need to be green.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in haiku and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [no need to be green]

  1. i will confess, i’ve been slow appreciating the Haiku form
    but this is exceptional poetry to these ears.
    ‘Boisterous mountain’

    and my imagination sails….ty.

    • Thank you. The reason you’ll find haiku so rarely featured in my posts is that I find it the most difficult for me to write. And then the most difficult for me to be happy with what I’ve written. If your imagination can sail on what I’ve tried, that I can at least smile for. ✒Cyn

      • and smile you should, because not only did your poem set my imagination free, it triggered a memory i haven’t thought about in years.

        ‘boisterous mountain’…a group of us were caught unprepared for a sudden thunderstorm near the peak of Mt Katahdin in Maine, 3rd highest peak in N.A. so ty, for that. *smiles*

        yes, i understand, keeping strictly to the 17 syllable form as intended is diifficult. i wrote my first one last week, but i kinda’ cheated, i stacked a whole bunch together to tell a story.

        and i have to thank you for leading the way to your poetry with your follow, i’m so drawn to your words i can’t seem to stop reading…

        • Just my opinion, but I don’t consider stacking a bunch of poems to be cheating at all, even for haiku or senryū. Whether for tanka chains or sonnet crowns or theme collections, why should having a bunch be ok for anything else but not for haiku? In fact, I would think a bunch of stacked haiku could feel a bit like a ghazal, where the couplets are separate and work best the farther the conceptual space feels between each couplet, yet all the couplets work to a single end. Look, now you’ve got me yearning to “cheat” with a bunch of haiku of my own! Smiling. ✒Cyn

          • oh, thanks for that validation and the giggle too, the ‘yearning to cheat’ *smiling now*

            and the circle of inspiration goes ’round and ’round…..i’m so glad we found each other, ty.

Comments welcome!

