Another Look

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Teasdale got the first of me,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Wurdemann got my best,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀but Van Duyn only got me going
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀wanting all the rest.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Teasdale‘s I could never get through,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Wurdemann‘s I got fine,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀but all the rest I get to
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀just remind me of Van Duyn.


prompted by A Birthday in August ~ Sara Teasdale
at the imaginary garden with real toads,
shadowing Teasdale’s The Look,
as posted at the Academy of American Poets

This entry was posted in quatrain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Look

  1. maggie says:

    What fun! Teasdale and Wurdemann and Van Duyn, all at the same party!

    (But this would like links. Want help on the code, you know whom to ask.)

    • Do I need to wash out your head with some industrial strength soap, dear?

      (And yes, I wanted the links. I don’t like bothering him when he’s this busy. Pretend they’re there.)

Comments welcome!

