Preoccupational Calling

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Nobody wants to grow up to be what you are
⠀⠀⠀⠀now that you’re settled down done getting grown.
⠀⠀⠀⠀At least you are. Hey, that should take you far.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀When I was ten, I discovered a secret bizarre
⠀⠀⠀⠀enough to stick: if you wish to grow up left alone,
⠀⠀⠀⠀nobody wants to grow up to be what you are.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀”Get over it,” my mother urged of nursing the scar
⠀⠀⠀⠀left by wanting to be like my father once on my own.
⠀⠀⠀⠀”At least you are. Hey, that should take you far.”
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Training yourself to raise or lower any given bar
⠀⠀⠀⠀chases cold winds. Then when your wings’ve flown,
⠀⠀⠀⠀nobody wants to grow up to be what you are.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀”Oh grow up,” abuse went. Oh I did. My memoir
⠀⠀⠀⠀will prove what all I’ve done to remain an unknown.
⠀⠀⠀⠀”At least you are. Hey, that should take you far.”
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Dreams are for knowing how badly waking’s subpar.
⠀⠀⠀⠀But when dreams dream no more than becoming a
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀forgotten name on broken stone,
⠀⠀⠀⠀nobody wants to grow up to be what you are.
⠀⠀⠀⠀At least you are. Hey, that should take you far.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in villanelle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Preoccupational Calling

  1. peggygoetz says:

    At least you are what you are. Clever.

  2. Frances D says:

    This poem is a true work of art both in written word and how the lines are set up physically.

  3. himanirawatnayal says:

    One may aspire to be anything but impression that we grow with latch on effortlessly and we become what we are…

  4. THis was a telling poem, Cyn. Having worked in the limelight (entertainer) most of my life, I at first found obscurity required a huge adjustment. Now I love it, and that should take me far!

    Your final stanza here, referencing death, is a stunner. Great write, Cyn. Amy

Comments welcome!

