Transformer

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀On a street I routinely meander
⠀⠀⠀⠀I discovered a note, which with candor
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀that, while rather cunning,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I quickly found stunning —
⠀⠀⠀⠀”Prepare to be an innocent bystander.”


prompted by Daily Prompt: Everything Changes at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in limerick and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Transformer

  1. O I was born to be that….

  2. Freakishly clever. What event does this note presage? In this era of terrorism, most people would think a bombing. For me, I’d hope is was a flashmob! Great little limerick, Cyn. Amy

    • Shrapnel from a terrorist’s bomb? Stray bullet from a driveby gang shooting? Collateral damage from poison meant for a past lover? In my experience, anytime the press or the perpetrator or the government or the abuser speaks of an innocent bystander, it’s a device for shirking responsibility.

      Although in the instance of this limerick, I intended the form’s tendencies to make precisely the opposite claim of itself: responsibility. The prompt’s “note on the street” in this case being my limerick itself. The recipient being anyone who has read it.

      So if I can ever figure a way to spring a flashmob on you, prepare!

      ✒Cyn

  3. Mike says:

    A chilling limerick that nevertheless amuses. Well done.

Comments welcome!

