Never, Adrien

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Adrien got me
⠀⠀⠀⠀to try chargrilled snake.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t be repeating
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀that mistake.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Adrien made me
⠀⠀⠀⠀try seeing ahead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ll not do so again until
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀after I’m dead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Adrien had me
⠀⠀⠀⠀believing in you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again, forget it
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀— I’m through.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Never Again at the Daily Post
[margin notes]

This entry was posted in quatrain and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Never, Adrien

  1. Mike says:

    Three strikes and you’re out. Nicely done.

    • Maybe. Although when it comes to threes, Adrien likes to point out that there are three kind of people: those who can count; and those who can’t. So I’m likely the one who’s out in this one.

  2. i noticed i’ve returned to this post just to read it, once more.
    i don’t think i get all the hidden meaning (and maybe that’s exactly the point), yet it strikes a chord with me.
    from what i’ve read of your poetry, it seems you really mean to get something out, something that’s larger than just one post. i like that kind of continuity in poetry – it makes writing honest, and mysterious, and private, too.
    still. sometimes, i feel like none of this is my business, and that i shouldn’t intrude…
    oh, but i love to.
    and i’ll probably come back and read your words, for a third time.

    • This poem responds to the prompt’s probe at that “Never again!” experience by looking at three good reasons why never again for me: 1 because I don’t wish to, 2 because I’m unable to, and 3 because it’s wrong. I don’t do very well explaining how my muse gets these things out, but neither do I use metaphor to conceal. So I’ll put this one on my task list for adding a few background notes soon. Thank you for the time you give to reading, especially for those multiple passes. ✒Cyn

  3. Hell, chargrilled snake is a story all on its own.
    big GRIN
    Yeah, I laughed.

Comments welcome!

