Never’s Nevers

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀I demanded to be left alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Like I said it. Like I meant it.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Don’t make me say so again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Alone. Never again known.
⠀⠀⠀⠀So I won’t hurt again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t be bothered again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t be triggered again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Won’t have to try again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Won’t have to work at it.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Won’t be responsible.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Won’t feel anything.
⠀⠀⠀⠀So I won’t have to listen.
⠀⠀⠀⠀And I won’t have to see.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Then I won’t have to know.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can simply walk away.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can forget.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can call it a waste.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can pretend it was all a lie.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can say it was too good to be true.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can tell myself I am forgotten.
⠀⠀⠀⠀That soft voice, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Those blue eyes, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀That gentle touch, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again all that time.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again all those dreams.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I don’t want such kindness.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t need those smiles.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I started it, I can end it.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Love me never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me the hell alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again
⠀⠀⠀⠀so much as breathe
⠀⠀⠀⠀another word,
⠀⠀⠀⠀not one more word,
⠀⠀⠀⠀not one more word meant for me,
⠀⠀⠀⠀not one more intimate word,
⠀⠀⠀⠀not one more word.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t care, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I won’t hope, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I can’t take it, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again, all of it.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Done.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Finished.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Don’t ever say my name again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Don’t ever do anything for me again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Don’t ever again want an ever again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Just leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Just shut the hell up.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Just go to hell.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Just die.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Yes, die.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Get it?
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop thinking of me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop singing to me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop working for me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop dancing for me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop holding me close.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Get me out of your system.
⠀⠀⠀⠀All the way out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop making me part of you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop making me matter.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stop making me worth it.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Give up.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Quit.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I did.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Your turn.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Crossing paths, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Together, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Home, never again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Alone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Leave me.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Alone.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Never Again at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!

