Scent of You

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀The scent of you on the shirt
⠀⠀⠀⠀you left behind did finally fade.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I would still know it blindfolded
⠀⠀⠀⠀in a crowded room of dry sweat
⠀⠀⠀⠀and cigarette smoke and beer
⠀⠀⠀⠀and a cloudy soup of fragrance.
⠀⠀⠀⠀All the way over here, I’d know
⠀⠀⠀⠀the instant the open door’s draft
⠀⠀⠀⠀brought you back into my nose,
⠀⠀⠀⠀my head, my throat and lungs,
⠀⠀⠀⠀sweet sweet scent of you again,
⠀⠀⠀⠀take me back to where you went.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Smell You Later at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scent of You

  1. White Pearl says:

    Oh so touching….Beautiful !!

Comments welcome!

