My Bad Hands

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀My hands are way too short
⠀⠀⠀⠀to reach what they should touch.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I’d stretch them out,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀but they’d distort
⠀⠀⠀⠀possessing things too much.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀My hands are way too fat
⠀⠀⠀⠀to fit where they should be.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I’d starve myself,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀but they’d fall flat
⠀⠀⠀⠀run out of energy.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀My hands are way too cold
⠀⠀⠀⠀to warm each in its glove.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I wave goodbye.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀They’ll never hold
⠀⠀⠀⠀the other hands they love.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Life Line at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Bad Hands

  1. Frances D says:

    So sad…good…but sad. I hope those hands do get to hold those other hands they love.

  2. poetalias says:

    My hands are too polite
    to have you or to hold
    you for myself.
    It isn’t right
    for you to be controlled.

    • ⠀⠀⠀⠀
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀Yeah, but your hands are way too bad
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀to be allowed to stay.
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Whatever good
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀they may have had
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀was randomly that way.
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀At least, that’s what they say.
      ⠀⠀⠀⠀

Comments welcome!

