This Joke’s On Me

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Does this face look like I’m laughing? I’m not
⠀⠀⠀⠀in amused enough a mood to get off making fun
⠀⠀⠀⠀of my friends behind their backs. Snide smirks
⠀⠀⠀⠀backfire. Ridicule ricochets. A cheap potshot
⠀⠀⠀⠀boomerangs with a vengeance back on the one
⠀⠀⠀⠀teasing. Jokes on friends aren’t what works.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀What in my reaction has you so perplexed?
⠀⠀⠀⠀What, me give up applause to any ribald pun
⠀⠀⠀⠀merely because I’ve treated them like jerks?
⠀⠀⠀⠀Seriously, your punchlines tell me who’s next…
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Knock knock, hun.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Too Soon? at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in curtal sonnet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Joke’s On Me

  1. Brenda says:

    I don’t like cutting up friends behind their back either. Good for you to draw the line.

    • Too bad there aren’t more like you. Some not only do so, but take pleasure in doing so, even celebrating when they’re deceiving themselves into thinking they’ve done it well, then disclaim responsibility for their destructive choices. But I’m not drawing any line that wasn’t already there. Just voicing a word in support of the victim. Thanks for reading and responding. ✒Cyn

Comments welcome!

