Aurora

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀The unseen side of a new moon was out
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀bewitching my sometime home.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Stranger things have I heard tell about
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀with stranger yet to come.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀There were way stranger things yet to come.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀This waystation I nearly passed its door
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀on my way I forget to where.
⠀⠀⠀⠀That was seven maybe eight years before,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀by now I had my own chair.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Every night I drink set in my chair.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀My grandmother’d never a stranger let
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀pass through without a kiss.
⠀⠀⠀⠀That magic night the traveller I met
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀was not a man to dismiss.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not without many a kiss.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Miracles can’t easily be taken back
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀after properly prayed.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Fantasy gives way to hard fact
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀where lovers’ beds are laid.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀My bed with love got itself laid.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Like clockwork I woke to see in dawn
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀from dreams we’d pillowtalked.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Like always happens, he was gone.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I’d been asleep when he walked.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I slept our night off as he walked.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Later that night I was handed the note
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀left at the waystation’s bar.
⠀⠀⠀⠀”Don’t think of yourself like you do,” he wrote.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀”You think yourself not, when you are.”
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like my grandmother, “Know that you are.”
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀One day later a couple passed through
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀on a journey the opposite way
⠀⠀⠀⠀my mysterious visitor had been going to.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀He hadn’t been seen the day.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀He’d been seen by no one all day.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Three days after I thought I’d not see
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀those blue eyes ever again sing,
⠀⠀⠀⠀I came upon him hanging from the tree
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀over our local brook’s spring.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Hung over the cold bubbling spring.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Nine months after I laid my beloved to rest
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀between my window and autumn’s last morn
⠀⠀⠀⠀an angel came looking from out the west.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀That day Aurora was born
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀As the moon set, Aurora was born.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Aurora, set your wee eyes on fire
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀as morning stormclouds break.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Aurora, don’t take after your late sire
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀for your great-grandmother’s sake.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀For your mother’s daughter’s sake.


prompted by Kerry’s Wednesday Challenge ~ Songs
at the imaginary garden with real toads

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Aurora

  1. Kay Davies says:

    Oh, I love this. So heartbreaking, but with so much old world charm. Well done.
    K

    • Credit a really good prompt at a great poetry site, together with a song written by a friend running loose in my head while dozing, together with what’s left of my father’s old world ways still haunting me. Thank you for reading and commenting. ✒Cyn

  2. Oh my, the heartbreak in this, but it is so wonderfully written.

  3. Your magical theme and references to nature as well as the story-telling are perfect for the Romantics theme. I love the way you have composed each stanza – the rhyme and repetition create a wonderful lilting, musical rhythm. This is so well done.

    • Thank you for a really great prompt. In the list you gave of themes commonplace in Romanticism – far off lands, the distant past, dreams, etc – I was like the kid in a candy store saying “I’ll have one of each.” Your discussion of Romanticism brought to my mind a lyrical piece a friend of mine wrote and sang, Moonlight Soul Shopper, which was singing in my head as I drowsed off to light dreaming in a pediatrician’s waiting room. And my muse took over from there. ✒Cyn

  4. Ella says:

    Wow-I love the ending and the mystic legendary feel of your poem:
    Nine months after I laid my beloved to rest
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀between my window and autumn’s last morn
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀an angel came looking from out the west.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀That day Aurora was born
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀As the moon set, Aurora was born.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀Aurora, set your wee eyes on fire
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀as morning stormclouds break.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀Aurora, don’t take after your late sire
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀for your great-grandmother’s sake.
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀For your mother’s daughter’s sake.

    So dream like-love yours!

    • Thank your for reading and sharing, always appreciated. Although all of this does link back up to my own reality and experience, enough of it came from a dream I had about it to seep into the poem on the premise of reflecting Romanticism’s interest in dream. ✒Cyn

  5. “The unseen side of a new moon was out” — great opening line. I was hooked from the start with that.
    I kept thinking of the “The Highwayman” by Noyes while reading your poem. It kept intruding. Very odd to my mind today.

    • I’d not been back to The Highwayman since my grandmother read it to me as as bedtime story when I was a child, but I feel humbly honored to bring it to your mind.

      “The unseen side of a new moon” is all lit up. Tongue in cheek, I was darkening my scene by saying it to be it “was out” as if a lamp turned off. Except I did of course mean as much different and secret as is that other side of the moon.

      Thank you always for reading and sharing with me. ✒Cyn

  6. i keep wanting to cite one particular passage as my favorite, but they all are.
    Aurora…that word alone sets my imagination free, and as a name, absolutely beautiful.

Comments welcome!

