Last Smart Debris

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀This afternoon’s for sweeping up debris
⠀⠀⠀⠀behind the storm. Look around, we’re last
⠀⠀⠀⠀getting to it. Diligent, just not smart
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀enough to have phones charged. These smart
⠀⠀⠀⠀devices do have their faults. Too much debris,
⠀⠀⠀⠀bye bye power, good night phones. At last
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀we’re back. Don’t worry, we get to have last
⠀⠀⠀⠀word. Late perhaps, but ours’ll look most smart,
⠀⠀⠀⠀experts that we are on surviving debris.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀(Storms don’t make debris to last.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀How smart of them.)


prompted by Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in quenine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Last Smart Debris

  1. i’m just catching up to some of the comments i missed, apparently justifying abuse in some way. and now i reread my comment;

    may the gods and goddess bless you for bringing it up, ty. and i think this one of your poems i need to return to, but i can say that bruises heal sooner than words.

    and realize that it could possibly, horribly be misunderstood. please, please tell me you didn’t misunderstand me. i didn’t want to be too graphic, because i so easily could, choosing instead to be safe, probably wrongly now that i read it again. this added to this news that you are leaving, it would just break my heart to think this is how it will be left….. that i was part of this somehow…..that me, of all people might be misunderstood about the horrors of abuse…please tell me it isn’t so…

    and if you choose to answer me at all, you can bury it in one of my old poems, no one will see it there. i’ll delete it, as i hope you’ll delete this after reading it.

    • Your comments have all been thoughtful and considerate. I only wish I could say the same of every visitor here.

      The issue of domestic abuse needs to be exposed, instead of hidden away and shrugged off as so long it has been.

      Anyone who shrugs off domestic abuse like it’s just some alternative lifestyle that we have no cause to be judgmental about should be sentenced to live a year in the bruise of a battered woman. Whatever, their point of view isn’t welcome here.

      Your comments have been welcome, and I anticipate they always will be.

      Cyn

    • And if it helps to emphasize my acceptance of your previous comment, let me observe that I intend to bring it back around in one of the pages of the prose piece I’m doing. That indeed, as abusive as physical bruises are, the harm from abusive words can be far more lasting and lethal. Every abuser I’ve ever known – every single one – doesn’t understand that truth. Not opinion, but absolute truth. How an abusive word can easily outlast any bruise.

      No, my kind reader, your comments stand intact here precisely because they do NOT make any excuse for abuse. Be at peace.

      Cyn

  2. thank you, so much for responding, i probably over reacted as i do when i’m upset, because i am.
    reading that you are not posting anymore has really hit me hard, sucked the air right out my lungs….yeah, i’m really upset right now, and not selfishly just for me, for you as well…

    • Sorry, my good friend. Seriously, I’m sorry if any of this upset you in any way whatsoever, at all. You are on my posted list of recommended reading with solidly good cause. I openly point any of my readers to your writing, and I’ve never had any problem with your comments here.

      Let me get past this brouhaha I ran into today, let me forget it all to a few nights of sleep, let me resort to a bit of prose, and Denise will again make me get over it and get back out in the open. And until then, maybe I’ll open up one of the back rooms where I’ve been posting other poetry all along.

      Peace, my friend. Cyn

  3. and knowing that you know much too much about this subject of abuse, that another person i care about because i do, knows too much about the horrors of abuse, another incredible woman i’ve gotten to know and trust and admire, knows too much. …yeah, i’m really upset right now…i’m so sorry, dear poet…

  4. ok, our comments are overlapping. we’ve said a lot tonight and i so appreciate your candor with me here.. this subject will always make me upset, it’s nothing you’ve done dear poet, please be assured. get some rest and i will to. ty, ty, ty…

Comments welcome!

