On Taking My Meds

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I forget who I was
⠀⠀⠀⠀or I know all too well, I forget what it does.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Let’s skip that one this time and see.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I don’t think to eat
⠀⠀⠀⠀so I can’t carry my weight, not unless I cheat.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ve got meds for curing me of that, if I do.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I fast lose control
⠀⠀⠀⠀and find it slow to regain, on the whole.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Usually involves a fistful more meds.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I disappear in thin air
⠀⠀⠀⠀which has its drawbacks, like what to wear.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I keep spare undies on hand just in case.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I can’t keep myself straight
⠀⠀⠀⠀to get where I’m going without getting there late.
⠀⠀⠀⠀Or maybe it’s my goals needing to be on meds.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, I talk ancient Greek
⠀⠀⠀⠀or whatever else doctors can’t hear me speak.
⠀⠀⠀⠀What, is there no pill to improve their hearing?
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, they put me up for sale
⠀⠀⠀⠀at discount of manufacturer’s suggested retail.
⠀⠀⠀⠀No problem. I’m used to buying myself back.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀If I don’t take my meds, my meds won’t take me
⠀⠀⠀⠀so together we romp around happy and free.
⠀⠀⠀⠀No side effects, none I can’t live without.


prompted by Daily Prompt: On the Edge at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in nonce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Taking My Meds

  1. OOOOOO. Due to very recent conversations on this subject with friend this one has quite an edge, Cyn. Oh yeah.
    I have taken note of your use of prompts and in light of that perhaps you might be interested in
    “The Wind Never Lies” at Beyond Meds, http://beyondmeds.com/?s=the+wind+never+lies
    I’m just sharing an article I found very interesting a while back when the title grabbed my attention. It may or not be of interest to you or anyone else–but it certainly is connected to the poem and the serious issues of medication and side-effects.
    I love the last stanza.

    • Thank you so much for the link. I’ve begun reading there and hope anyone else passing through here do the same.

      On poetry prompts – More than half of the poetry I write continues to be off-prompt: love poetry for Denise, collaborative poetry with a family I’m part of, projects I’ve been working on for several years (such as a haiku project I started after the tsunami), personal poems prompted only by my own daily experiences and thoughts, verse form exercises, and various other writings I work on. But since I first began regular writing to prompt this past April, I’ve clearly become addicted to also writing on prompt. I just passed my 2-month anniversary of consecutive daily poems written to the WordPress Daily Post prompts, I’ve written every day since May 1 to prompts set forth by my collaboration family, and I’ve recently found good inspiration in prompts at Real Toads and various other poetry communities. I’ve said I write because it hurts not to. I could add to that by saying I write as much as I can because it makes it hurt less.

      ✒Cyn

  2. Cyn, thanks for your comment about Oscar Wilde and my family. I, too, am a “med head,” manic depression with PTSD, OCD, and various alphabetical conundra. It’s all over my family, and often when I write to prompt, it involves one of these: Mental Health, Social Justice, LGBTQ (in particular), Jazz Career (35 years in clubs), and my grandmother. She was a ONER!

    This was a brill take on the taking of the meds. In particular, channeling ancient Greek is excellent. My best is that when I stand near a fan, I can hear vague Beach Boys music, harmonies and all. The psychiatric gerbil wheel is a pain in the ass, but somehow I do manage better with than without… LOVED this post for so many reasons, sister. Love to Denise, too. Amy

Comments welcome!

