More Lies

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀The child in poverty,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀you call greedy,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀because he holds out his hand
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀in hunger.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀The young woman,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀you call a tramp deserving rape,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀because she dresses herself
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀as beautiful as she is.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀The victim,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀you call a bully,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀because he stands up for himself
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀against your abuse.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀The true friend,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀you call nothing,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀because she isn’t there for you
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀to stab in the back again.


This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Lies

  1. i just want to tell you that despite the fact that i write poetry… well, i really don’t like to read it! and when it comes to my own, i have no idea what i’m doing. words just fall on pages and so i go with it. but anyway, my point is i don’t like poetry, but LOVE yours. i look forward to reading more 🙂

    • Thank you! Actually I pretty much share the same feeling about reading versus writing. I love reading prose, but I don’t read as much poetry as I write. Denise and a few of my friends have been trying to work with me on that, force-feeding me at least one poem a day to read. It helps me to read out loud. Which Iggy seems to like too. Cyn

Comments welcome!

