Thin Ice

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Thin ice has been made obsolete.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Declared out of order.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Rendered incapacitated.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like bubonic plague, polio, smallpox.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like Houston heat and humidity.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like politically incorrect words.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Wear the newest shoes, and you’re safe.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀No more problems with thin ice.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀By 2015, it’ll be required footwear.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like nutrition labels.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like those curly light bulbs.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like toilets that save water.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Only thrift stores will have the old shoes.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀And asylum wards that don’t let you go out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀And third world countries that have no ice.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I fell through thin ice once.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀We didn’t have the new shoes then.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I was raised on fear of thin ice instead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Every winter my mother would point it out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Every river, every lake, every mere puddle.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀”Thin ice,” she said, “is what killed your father.”
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She was talking allegorically and it’s still not so.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She was harboring guilt for not helping him.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She was saying it for effect and it had that.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She did want the best for her only child.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She did want to protect me from danger.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀She wanted to keep me from following him through.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I went in with two close friends.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Close enough to have been my sisters.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Forever together no matter what and all that.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀We all quickly grabbed hands.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Each trying to help the others make it out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not arguing who cracked the ice for us all.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not fighting to be the first one out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not leaving each other behind in the icy dark.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Two better friends I could not have chosen.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not for falling through thin ice.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I recommend it if you’re not yet in the new shoes.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Get yourself two good friends to trust on thin ice.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀We were carried off by the river current.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Just like my mother warned, if only I’d listened.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀All three of us holding hands.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Drifting into our black wet grave.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Not all deaths are equal.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Death at the hand of a loved one, the worst.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Death by fire at the stake, mush less severe.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Death by natural causes, almost boring.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Death by falling through thin ice, rather soothing.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I began to understand what my mother had hated.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀What she had so badly confused.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Why she had wished him dead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I came back up through the hole in the ice.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I must have been caught in a whirlpool.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I must have been going in circles.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I do that, frequently.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Like Houdini, I escaped.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I do that, usually.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀My friends knew I would get help.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I do that, naturally.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Even when I have my new shoes on, I still will.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Some things don’t quit just because of new shoes.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Firemen rushed to the scene.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Policemen rushed to the scene.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀News reporters rushed to the scene.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀A crowd of curious neighbors gathered.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Two helicopters circled each other overhead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Four ambulances were called in.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀A politician running for mayor showed up.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Everyone was looking to me for what to do.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I stomped my old boots and demanded action.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I chipped away at the edges of the hole.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I refused to leave it to anyone else.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Four minutes, four full minutes.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Life can be preserved in ice forever.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Put a friend on ice for years, she’ll remain true.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Lose your father to the ice, he’s never far away,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Wrap your heart in ice, it will beat again.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀The new shoes only eliminate the risk.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀It’s not as if I knew how to avoid a good friend.


This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thin Ice

  1. All the level of motivation and action and ‘thin ice’ of course, watiing for the unsuspecting to venture upon it.
    Do new shoes really eliminate risk?
    I’m thinking not so much.

Comments welcome!

