[Can a teacher who]

        
                                Can a teacher who
                           suggests lies to gain tenure
                                   be trusted to teach?
        

        


prompted by Haiku Heights #279 ~ September Heights Day 06 ~ Teacher
at Haiku Heights

This entry was posted in senryū and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to [Can a teacher who]

  1. Ramesh Sood says:

    Oh, how can that be possible? and then it does happen…doesn’t it?

    RS:)

  2. Locomente says:

    A thoughtful question there!!!
    Very difficult to find an answer though…

    http://locomente.blogspot.in/2013/09/first-teacher.html

    • Thanks. But I think the answer is quite simple: a very clear no. Only if we believe words don’t really mean anything that can’t be changed to suit selfish interests, so can excuse saying there is any basis at all in putting “trust” in a “teacher” who openly “lies” can the question seem difficult, but even then it’s rather simple to see what is being taught. Cyn

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    hard days for students……..no wonder the world is getting darker. sigh……

    • Yes, and it is how it gets excused and condoned to be taught that was getting my senryū juices bleeding on this one. “Everyone does it, so who am I to judge…” yeah right, dark enough. But how someone in a teaching position can invite participation in perpetuating something that all involved openly know to be a destructive lie that will only hurt other people in the interests of selfish gains for the liars, then expect that the professor would never lie just as easily to his co-conspirators whenever it is in his interests to do so, that method of “education” I can’t see as “enlightenment” no matter how much I try to blind myself. Cyn

  4. Alice Keys says:

    WOW. I really like this. This is accurate and to the point. I’ve known teachers who’ve done much worse and still teach.

    http://alicekeysmd.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/freedoms-school/

    • I like yours on this topic, and I recommend it to any who chance to pass by this spot.

      Friends keep telling me don’t take it so seriously, excusing lies based on scales of whiteness or how everyone does it, and so on. But I see teachers as entrusted with a responsibility almost as serious as that of a mother. And the instant we begin excusing or condoning the lies of a teacher, I can’t help but view with suspicion anything supposedly being “taught.” Cyn

      • Alice Keys says:

        Thanks for your kind words and your support of my writing.

        I think education must be taken much more seriously than it is being now. It is the basis of our cultural transmission, more so even than parents. Kids start “school” at six weeks now when dropped with strangers in daycare. And any print their parents leave on them is what their parents bring from their own education experience.

        It’s foolish to take a universal government mandated education lightly.

        I can’t even excuse a teacher who is “just following orders” and teaching lies from a standardized curriculum.

        I’ve heard “the moon only comes out at night” from a kindergarden teacher to her class. It sounds so simple. Don’t take it seriously, right?

        “What is it that I see when the moon is out during the day?”

        If one teaches children to believe authority over the evidence of their own eyes, they become adults you may not want to live around or have running things.

        Education is a deeply serious matter, even to people not currently raising children of their own.

        Thanks for stopping by and inspiring thoughts.

        Alice 🙂

        • I deeply appreciate your considerate thoughtful comment here. It’s like fresh water to a long hot walk across desert against a stiff hot wind.

          I’ll probably skip poetry today and spend spare moments doing the rare piece of prose. Wanna help? Tell me your reaction to a grade school teacher who teaches her classroom that the U.S. has now put that moon up for rent, double for daylight moons, then pockets the nickels her students hand over to her. And without shrugging it off as an extreme example, since almost daily now we’re seeing news stories of teachers whose lies are more egregious. So just for the sake of drawing a line or two (or in the case of those calling it too “judgmental” to think there to be any standards, for the sake of blurring any and all lines), what would your take be about such a teacher’s teachings?

          Cyn

          • Alice Keys says:

            She is a thief and con, pure and simple. Unless she used it as an example to teach them about cons and later refunded their nickels. Let me know when you’re done. 🙂

            • Thank you once again for considerate response.

              Please don’t feel used if I point to your discussion to draw a distinction. In what you’re saying, you are not excusing or condoning harmful deception. So I have no problem hosting this discussion on my pages, whether or not you and I agree. If I still sound edgy about that, chalk it up to my stalker, combined with an independent comment I had to screen out for how it shrugged off domestic abuse.

              But my comment margin are reminding me of hospital wards I’ve been in. The bulk of my response is posted separately below.

          • Alice Keys says:

            Oh yes. I’ve clicked “follow”. But I’m in the land of skimpy to non-existent internet for the foreseeable future. Drop me a line to be sure I don’t miss it. 🙂

            • Thank you for the “follow,” but the timing is bad, since for a stretch of road now, all of my poetry – which has always been too dangerously intimate for someone who can’t seem to shake a long-term stalker – is again going completely backstage. And even I admit what little prose I do is tedious. I’ll stay in touch be reading your writing instead, that’ll work.

  5. Answer to poem’s question. No.
    Yet many many have.
    More simmering under consideration.

  6. About a school teacher who uses a con “game” as a lesson, eventually returning any money, I agree such a lesson can be good teaching, although I think any object lessons on con games ought be age-appropriate. And notice why we would think it to be good teaching – not because it’s teaching them how to con others, rather how to identify and avoid the con. It’s good teaching to recognize there are lines between right and wrong. Teaching that ignores those rules teaches nothing that can be trusted.

    I think my line is crossed when a liar definitely knows that what they’re saying is not true, yet they make a willful choice to communicate the lie, and the reason for doing so involves the liar’s personal gain at another’s harm or loss.

    Even there, I’m not the judgmental absolute-minded sermonizer some have painted me as. For instance, by a simplistic reading of my line, would Anne Frank be a liar in my book? No, she and her family were victims of the kinds of lethal lies too often justified by people who think everyone gets to make up their own rules.

    I elaborate on some of my own thinking about lies on the second page of my current prose piece: A Prosaic Interlude — On the Teaching of Deception with Intention To Harm.

    I’m not yet finished that prose piece. It probably will eventually drift off unfinished. Because of fresh encounters a long-term stalker from my past life, I’m temporarily going private with all my poetry, which has always been too intimate for me to be risking the safety of others.

Comments welcome!

