A Worried Villanelle

    
                    
                  I’m having trouble keeping my thoughts steady.
                  I’d thought you’d have been finished hours ago.
                  Shouldn’t you have been back home already?
                  
                  Like random wind-blown pieces of confetti,
                  wild speculations break my usual flow.
                  I’m having trouble keeping my thoughts steady.
                  
                  I’m sure I’m acting infantile and petty
                  but when you’re late, you always let me know.
                  Shouldn’t you have been back home already?
                  
                  I circle round and round some twisted eddy
                  that I can’t break myself from. It’s as though
                  I’m having trouble keeping my thoughts steady.
                  
                  Our dinner’s sitting cold. Cold baked spaghetti.
                  Weren’t you to stop and pick up a Merlot?
                  Shouldn’t you have been back home already?
                  
                  I’m breathing hard. I’m sick. My palms are sweaty
                  like something’s happened to upset me so.
                  I’m having trouble keeping my thoughts steady.
                  Shouldn’t you have been back home already?
        

        


This entry was posted in villanelle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Worried Villanelle

  1. slpmartin says:

    A feeling we all have had I suspect.

  2. Mike says:

    Fraught and suspenseful – excellent voice and tone, well done.

Comments welcome!

