Melted Down

        
        By now it’s been melted down already.
        That little trophy. The one presented me
        to mark an annually recognized award
        for which I happened this time around
        to earn honorable mention. Just enough
        for polite applause now worth its weight
        in scrap to the petty thief who snatched
        the prize from my hand as I held the door
        open for some guests I didn’t even know
        who likely knew me even less, but smiled
        at how I waited patiently for them to pass
        as an unnecessary symbol disappeared
        from my possession to make itself of use
        to strangers who won’t care what it meant
        for that one brief moment it had been mine.
        


This entry was posted in whatev and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!

