Never Good Enough

        
        Our latest fatality
        (someone I once knew
        and like to think still do)
        went down in front of me.
        
        By what strange devilry
        was I not that one who
        what got done was done to
        just once? Sheer lunacy!
        
        So, what went wrong this time?
        What strategy’d I thwart
        to keep me hanging on
        while he innocent of crime
        so soon falls dead and gone?
        I’m always falling short.
        
        


This entry was posted in sonnet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!

