Do Sacrifice

⠀⠀⠀⠀ 
       You needn’t speak up for me;
       there’s nothing for you to tell
       nor should you stand up for me.
       Don’t mark when or where I fell.
       All the way to hell back to back
       I got charged the full price.
       That’s what the girl’s good for:
                     do sacrifice.

       Some friends read a meaningful word;
       some play a hymn I used to sing.
       Whatever gets itself said was heard,
       don’t leave remembering a thing.
       Just because I deserved nothing more,
       I shouldn’t have to choose twice.
       That’s what the girl’s in it for:
                     do sacrifice.

       There are souls worth their upkeep,
       worth the effort to save
       until clouded over with dark sleep
       in the hole made deep for my grave.
       Any overmorrow after today’s
       will not be of any god’s device.
       That’s what the girl’s leaving for:
                     do sacrifice.
 


This entry was posted in octet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome!