Schools Can’t Teach

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Schools can’t teach the things I want to know
⠀⠀⠀⠀instead of what I think I know, although
⠀⠀⠀⠀I always can assume. There’s mastery
⠀⠀⠀⠀in making up what I think things should be
⠀⠀⠀⠀for how I want you thinking it should go.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Can any class curriculum bestow
⠀⠀⠀⠀the talent I’d want my own verse to show?
⠀⠀⠀⠀Absent wherewithal to confer that degree,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀schools can’t teach.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀It kills me, how some teachers out there crow
⠀⠀⠀⠀how skilled they are with brash braggadocio
⠀⠀⠀⠀and manage to fool students who won’t see
⠀⠀⠀⠀what is and isn’t art in poetry.
⠀⠀⠀⠀When ignorance is all your prof can sow,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀schools can’t teach.


prompted by Daily Prompt: Back to School at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in rondeau and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Schools Can’t Teach

  1. Ben Naga says:

    THE MAGICAL ACT

    Teaching is love
    Which is to give
    the space to breathe
    To feed
    asking nothing in return

    Teach me
    Love me
    Teach me to love
    and teach in my turn
    Paying back to the spirit of man

  2. acts of discovery
    opening of mind to infinity
    worlds upon worlds yet to be explored
    again and again until any problem is resolved
    finding not one way
    but many
    engagement
    joy in free flow of mind be-ing
    without boundaries
    no limits
    universe unfolding
    unending
    within
    such is the ideal made real
    can be
    so seldom is these times
    can be
    again
    will to be

    • Yes. Wise insights. Any limits are self-imposed deceptions. And if realization of the ideal really comes so seldom anymore, it is only because we accept less than that infinity that is always within our reach.

Comments welcome!