Footwear

⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀A woman stomping through several feet of snow
⠀⠀⠀⠀couldn’t ask for better than the Sorel® boots
⠀⠀⠀⠀I owned when we still called the northeast home.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Joan of Arctic™ they were were called. Kept
⠀⠀⠀⠀my toes dry and toasty against winter’s worst.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’d picture Saint Joan stomping out to battle.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Waterproof from hard rubber sole to fur cuff,
⠀⠀⠀⠀they were as trustworthy as the truest friend,
⠀⠀⠀⠀standing up for me against the wildest assault.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀In Houston, sure, I could still be wearing mine
⠀⠀⠀⠀if I wanted to look like Joan hanging on to hers
⠀⠀⠀⠀all the way to the fiery end. I made a donation.
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀Maggie tells me of a friend of ours who walked
⠀⠀⠀⠀Manhattan winter streets with his bare feet
⠀⠀⠀⠀clad only in sandals. I’ll have to give that a try
⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀when I get back hearing the voices of the north.


prompted by Daily Prompt: These Boots Were Made for Walking at the Daily Post

This entry was posted in open form and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Footwear

  1. OOOO Joan of Arctic is rare wicked ironic and iconic.

    As for sandals in winter — have done so in the midwest. It can be satisfying–unexpectedly so. Just beware of the rock salt

  2. Pingback: My precious boots! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Comments welcome!